ESN Young Investigator Award

Home » ESN Young Investigator Award

ESN Young Scientist (Investigator) Lectureship Award winners:

The financial success of the 2nd ESN meeting in Göttingen in 1978 allowed the endowment of funds to support the ESN Young Investigator Lectureship Awards (now named “Young Scientist Lectureship Awards”) which recognize the research achievements of up to three promising young scientists in neurochemistry research. Candidates of 38 years of age or younger at the submission deadline should be based in a European country and/or should have achieved most of their outstanding achievements in European research groups. The ESN awards currently consist of an award medal (see picture below) and a paid trip to the ESN meeting, where the awardee(s) present a 30 minute lecture.


ESN Young Investigator Lectureship Award medal designed by Volker Neuhoff

September 1-4, 2019, Milan:

Dr Magalie Martineau (France): Presynaptic nanomachines: regulation of the quantal release of glutamate.

Dr Aiman Saab (Switzerland): Exploring mechanisms of neuron-glial signalling and metabolic interactions.

August 20-24, 2017, Paris:

Clévio Nóbrega, (Faro, Portugal): Machado-Joseph disease: from pathogenic mechanisms to therapeutic strategies;

June 14-17, 2015, Tartu:

Nico Mitro (Milan, Italy): The lipogenic regulator Sterol Regulatory Element Binding Factor-1c is required to maintain peripheral nerve structure and function;

Anna Cariboni (Milan, Italy): The molecular control of GnRH neuron development [unable to attend meeting and short summary provided by Angelo Poletti (Milan)].

June 23-26, 2013, Bath:

Josef Kittler (London, UK): Regulation of mitochondrial trafficking and function by Miro family proteins.

August 28-September 1, 2011, Athens:

Helle Waagepetersen (Copenhagen, Denmark): Energy requirements of glutamatergic neurotransmission;

Johannes Hirrlinger (Leipzig, Germany): The NAD+/NADH redox state of astrocytes: regulation and functional implications.

July 11-14, 2009, Leipzig:

Lawrie Rajendran (Dresden, Germany): Cellular mechanisms underlying β-amyloid generation and its implications for Alzheimer’s disease;

Javier Caso (Stanford, USA): Effects of prior stress in the severity and outcome of experimental cerebral ischemia: mechanisms involved.

May 19-22, 2007, Salamanca:

Jose Madrigal (Madrid, Spain): Neuroprotective actions of noradrenaline: potential role of MCP-1;

Inga Markiewicz (Warsaw, Poland): Glial cells activated by LPS and TMT attenuate neurogenesis from human umbilical cord blood derived neural stem cells (HUCB- NSC).

August 21-26, 2005, Innsbruck:

Jens Kurreck (Berlin, Germany): RNA interference approaches for target validation in pain research;

Milena Penkowa (Copenhagen, Denmark): Metallothionein neuroprotective roles in CNS injury and disorders.

June 1-4, 2003, Warsaw:

Michal Hetman (Louisville, Kentucky, USA): NMDA receptors mediate protective activation of extracellular signal regulated kinase 1/2;

Mario van der Stelt (Pozzuoli, Italy): Mechanisms underlying neuroprotection by the endocannabinoid anandamide and the cannabinoid/vanilloid receptor agonist, arvanil;

Sven-Eric Jordt (San Francisco, USA): Acid potentiation of the capsaicin receptor determined by a key extracellular site.

May 22-25, 2001, Perugia:

Alain Chédotal (Paris, France): Role of semaphorins and slit proteins in axonal guidance in the telencephalon;

Sima Lev (Rehovot, Israel): Cerebral ischemia and seizures induce tyrosine phosphorylation of PYK2 in neurons and microglial cells.

August 8-14, 1999, Berlin:

Ralf Dringen (Tübingen, Germany): Metabolic interactions between neurons and astrocytes in the defence against oxidative stress;

Jan Jakubík (Prague, Czech Republic): Aspects of the regulation and molecular assembly of muscarinic acetylcholine receptors.

July 19-24,1998, St Petersburg:

Henry Markram (Rehovot, Israel) Plasticity of frequency-dependent synapses.

June 15-20, 1996, Groningen:

Else Marie Fykse (Kjeller, Norway): “The role of phosphoproteins in synaptic vesicle neurotransmission”

Kerstin Krieglstein (Heidelberg, Germany): “Neural functions of transforming growth factors-beta”

August 14-18, 1994, Jerusalem:

Marianna Crispino (Naples, Italy): Gene expression in the axonal domain;

Jesús Pintor (Madrid, Spain): Diadenosine polyphosphates in the CNS: their role as new neurotransmitters;

Philippe Marin (Paris, France): Putative role of astrocytes in glutamatergic neurotransmission.

August 16-21, 1992, Dublin:

Aase Frandsen (Copenhagen, Denmark): EAA-induced cell death and Ca++ homeostasis;

Harvey McMahon (Dundee, UK): Barium-evoked glutamate and met-enkephalin release from synaptosomes: Insights into the locus of action of tetanus toxin.

Averell Gnatt (Jerusalem, Israel): Molecular dissection of functional domains in human cholinesterases.

July 23-28, 1990, Leipzig:

Etienne Hirsch (Paris, France): Cell death in Parkinson’s disease;

Henrik Hagberg (Göteborg, Sweden): Neurochemical aspects on hypoxic-ischemic brain damage.

June 12-17, 1988, Göteborg:

Heinrich Repke (Berlin, DDR): Peptide actions via receptor independent cell activation;

Peter Richardson (Cambridge, UK): Ectonucleotidases control purinergic regulation of striatal ACh release.

September 1-6, 1986, Prague:

Anthony Futerman (Rehovot, Israel): Covalently attached phosphatidylinositol as a hydrophobic anchor for acetylcholinesterase and other membrane proteins;

Sándor Erdö (Budapest, Hungary) Neuronal and extraneuronal mechanisms of GABA in the mammalian periphery.

August 21-24, 1984, Budapest:

Reinhard Jork (Magdeburg, DDR): Molecular aspects of information processing;

David Cox (London, UK): The relationship between brain energy state and neuronal function;

Maja Relja (Zagreb, Yugoslavia): Dopaminergic receptors in the genitourinary system: basic and clinical aspects.

September 12-18, 1982, Taormina:

Pam Fredman (Göteborg, Sweden):